Sugar Creek Players

"Entertaining Our Community"


Wabash College was the site of the premier appearance of the Sugar Creek Players. Formed by a group of community members who wanted to revive live, local theater, the Sugar Creek Players debuted “You Can’t Take It With You” in the summer of 1971. The players spent several years as a vagabond troupe, producing shows at Crawfordsville and North Montgomery High Schools, St. Bernard’s gymnasium, and the Holiday Inn.

Finally, in December of 1983, the Players found a permanent home when W. Addington Vance and Myron Pattison deeded the Vanity Motion Picture Theater to the Sugar Creek Players. Through capital campaign drives and fund raisers, the Players were able to open the Vanity Theater for its first production, “Crimes of the Heart,” in June 1988. In spite of tar paper flooring, folding metal chair seating, and a lack of air conditioning, the gala opening night was a success and 122 South Washington Street became “home.”

The Vanity Theater, home to the Sugar Creek Players, is located in downtown Crawfordsville on Washington Street between Pike and Main Street.


President: Katie Melvin
Vice-President: Nate Baldwin
Secretary: Brennan Reynolds
Treasurer:  Keith Strain

Board of Directors

Megan Birk
Heather Bradley
Therese Eutsler
Dustin Gardner
Josh Hampton
Evelyn Kaelin
Linda Kingry
Dan Martin
Tracy Mobley
Jackie Newkirk
Peyton Suiter
Jennie Swick
Correna Vellner
Laurie Vellner
Kim Woosley